

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

## Table of Precedence of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

as approved by Cabinet via Cabinet Minute No. 2874 of Nov. 1, 2012

- 1. The President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
- 2. The Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
- 3. The Chief Justice of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
- 4. The President of the Senate
- 5. The Speaker of the House of Representatives
- 6. Cabinet Members
- 7. The Chief Secretary, Tobago House of Assembly
- 8. Ministers of State
- 9. The Leader of the Opposition
- 10. High Commissioners and Ambassadors (in accordance with the Diplomatic Table of Precedence)
- 11. President of the Caribbean Court of Justice
- 12. Justices of Appeal
- 13. Judges of the High Court
- 14. (a) The Archbishop of Port of Spain
  - (b) The Bishop of Trinidad and Tobago
  - (c) The Chief Representative of the Hindu Religion
  - (d) The Chief Representative of the Muslim Religion
  - (e) The Chief Representative of the Council of Evangelical Churches
  - (f) The President of the Inter Religious Organisation
- 15. Ministers Accredited to Trinidad and Tobago, acting High Commissioners and Chargé d' Affaires
- 16. Parliamentary Secretaries
- 17. The Vice-President of the Senate
- 18. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives
- 19. Members of the Senate
- 20. Members of the House of Representatives
- 21. Presiding Officer of the Tobago House of Assembly
- 22. Secretaries of the Tobago House of Assembly
- 23. Accredited Chief Representatives of International Organisations
- 24. Chairmen of Commissions established under the Constitution, the Auditor General, the Ombudsman, the Governor of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago, the President of the Industrial Court (Precedence according to their respective dates of appointment)
- 25. The Permanent Secretary to the Prime Minister and Head of the Public Service
- 26. The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Head of the Foreign Service
- 27. The Permanent Secretaries, the Chief Personnel Officer, the Director of Personnel Administration, the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Solicitor General, the Chief Parliamentary Counsel, the Chief State Solicitor, the Chief Administrator, Tobago House of Assembly
- 28. Members of Commissions established under the Constitution, Judges of the Industrial Court (Precedence according to their respective dates of appointment)
- 29. The Chief of Defence Staff
- 30. The Commissioner of Police, the Commissioner of Prisons, the Chief Fire Officer
- 31. Mayors of City Corporations, Mayors of Boroughs and Chairmen of Regional Corporations
- 32. Consuls de Carrière, First Secretaries in Embassies and High Commissions
- 33. Senior Government Officials and Heads of Department
- 34. Chairmen of Statutory Boards and Authorities
- 35. Honorary Consuls, Vice-Consuls and Second and Third Secretaries