

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs

MEDIA RELEASE

INTER-MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE REGARDING THE REPATRIATION OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO CITIZENS FROM SYRIA AND IRAQ Port of Spain: 2nd July, 2025

Earlier today, the Cabinet of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago took the decision to appoint an Interministerial Committee regarding the repatriation of Trinidad and Tobago citizens from Syria and Iraq.

The members of the Committee are as follows:

i.The Honourable John Jeremie, Attorney General – Chair
ii.The Honourable Saddam Hosein, Minister of Legal Affairs – Vice Chair
iii.The Honourable Sean Sobers, Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs - Member
iv.The Honourable Devesh Maharaj, Minister of Justice – Member
v.The Honourable Wayne Sturge, Minister of Defence – Member
vi.The Honourable Roger Alexander, Minister of Homeland Security – Member

The mandate of the Committee is to expedite the repatriation of women and children who are citizens of Trinidad and Tobago from Syria and Iraq.

The Government of Trinidad and Tobago will collaborate with all relevant stakeholders and international partners to expedite the repatriation of Trinidad and Tobago citizens from Syria and Iraq.

Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs