The Bilateral Relations Division comprises the following:

The Africa, Asia, Middle East and the Pacific Unit
The Africa, Asia, Middle East and the Pacific Unit is responsible for pursuing the strengthening of bilateral links between Trinidad and Tobago and the countries within the respective regions.

Expansion of the benefits of trade and economic and political relations is emphasised.  In addition, the Unit explores possibilities for technical cooperation with and assistance from the countries of these regions, which primarily result in the successful conclusion of cultural, investment, trade and economic cooperation agreements.

The Unit also monitors developments in the regions under its purview and prepares briefs and reports on the relevant countries and on issues of importance to Trinidad and Tobago.
The Americas Unit
The mandate of the Americas Unit is to research, formulate and implement initiatives that permit the proactive achievement of the objectives of Trinidad and Tobago's relationship with countries of the Americas - North, South and Central America. Specific focus is placed on optimising the benefits of trade, economic and political relations.

The Unit is also responsible for monitoring developments in sub-regional, regional, hemispheric and international agencies and joint initiatives involving any or all of the hemispheric agencies.

In addition, the Unit participates in multilateral and bilateral negotiations with the countries in the region and prepares political and economic briefing documents and bilateral data on technical training and cooperation matters between Trinidad and Tobago and these states.

European Affairs Unit

The European Affairs Unit has a mandate to intensify and expand the scope of Trinidad and Tobago’s relations with countries of the European Union and other European countries. In this regard, Trinidad and Tobago, as a member of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) States, seeks to maximize the benefits of trade, economic and political relations.

The Economic Affairs Unit

The Economic Affairs Unit (EAU) was established within the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in January 2009, to fulfil a mandate outlined in the Ministry’s “Review of the Foreign Policy of Trinidad and Tobago: Bridging the World to Achieve Vision 2020”, November 2009. One of the four pillars of foreign policy is the ECONOMIC MISSION which focuses on Energy, Trade and Investment, Tourism, Agriculture and Science and Technology. The EAU was located in the BILATERAL Relations Division in June 2009. 

Currently, a Senior International Relations Specialist is responsible for managing these areas, with the associated Energy desk, and Trade and Investment desk.