Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne, Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs, wishes to announce the appointment by Cabinet of the reconstituted National Committee on Reparations (NCR) in keeping with the CARICOM decision that each CARICOM Member State will establish National Committees on Reparations whose respective Chairs sit on the CARICOM Regional Commission on Reparations.

Dr. Claudius Fergus has been appointed the Chairman of the NCR. He was a Lecturer in the Department of History, Faculty of Humanities and Education, The University of the West Indies (The UWI), St. Augustine Campus and served as the Head of that Department. Dr. Fergus has also conducted research, both within and outside of Trinidad and Tobago, on issues relevant to the topic of Reparations.

The other members of the NCR possess competencies and experience in diverse areas related to the work of the Committee and represent entities within the public sector and civil society. The entities represented are the Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs; Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts; Tobago House of Assembly (THA); Emancipation Support Committee; Orisha Elders; Santa Rosa First Peoples; All Mansions of Rastafari; Media and Youth.

The reconstituted National Committee on Reparations held its inaugural meeting on Friday 29th September, 2023.

Download PDF article